Downloads Show Reviews Contact Us Merchandise Contests



America and Jim Messina, December 8, 2011, The Saenger Theatre, Mobile, AL The Disco Biscuits, December 30-31, 2011, The Auditorium, Chicago, IL  
The String Chees incident, November 24, 2011, The Fabulous Fox Theatre, Atlanta, GA North Mississippi Allstars, November 25, 2011, Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN Hall & Oates, December 2, 2011,  Beau Rivage Theatre, Biloxi, MS
MOE. November 6, 2011, Vinyl Music Hall, Pensacola, FL The Wilderness of Manitoba, November 8, 2011, Alabama Music Box, Mobile, AL Bear Creek Music and Arts Festival, November 9-13, 2011, Spirit of Suwannee Music Park, Live Oak, FL

Gravy, 10-15-2011, Tipitina’s, New Orleans, LA

7 Walkers, October 18, 2011, Tipitina’s, New Orleans, LA 

Umphrey's McGee, October 29, 2011, The Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA

Buckethead, October 13, 2011, The Soul Kitchen, Mobile, AL Deluna Festival, October 14-16, 2011 Pensacola Beach, Pensacola, FL Trey Anastasio, October 14, 2011, The Fillmore, Charlotte, NC
North Mississippi Allstars w/ Alvin Youngblood Hart- October 7, 2011 - Tipitina's Uptown, New Orleans, LA Dr. John with Lower 911 - October 9, 2011 - The Alys Stephens Center, Birmingham, AL Bayfest, October 7-9, 2011, Downtown Mobile, AL
Lettuce - September 25, 2011 - Tipitina's Uptown, New Orleans, LA Widespread Panic - September 30, 2011, Tuscaloosa Amphitheatre, Tuscaloosa, AL Widespread Panic - October 2, 2011, Gulf Coast Coliseum, Biloxi, MS
Dumpstaphunk - September 15, 2011 Great American Music, San Francisco, CA Stanton Moore Trio, September 15, 16, 2011 - The Independent, San Francisco, CA Joan Osborne - September 17, 2011 The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA
Matisyahu - August 28, 2011 - The Alys Stephens Center, Birmingham, AL Hippiefest - September 1, 2011 - The Saenger Theatre, Mobile, AL Head Jamz Music Festival - September 2, 3, 4, 2011 - Banks of the Red River - Adams, TN
Aquarium Rescue Unit - August 8, 2011 - Georgia Theatre Re-Opening, Athens, GA Stockholm Syndrome - August 20, 2011 - Tipitina's - New Orleans, LA Interview with Grayson Capps - August 23, 2011 - A Taste of India, Mobile, AL

Click Here for reviews from January - July 2011

Click Here for reviews from 2010

The Disco Biscuits ~ Chicago Auditorium Theater ~ Chicago, IL ~ 12-30/31-2011 ~ NYE RUN!!

       The Disco Biscuits had their first NYE show 1995 in Philadelphia, PA.  Since then, they have grown to be a popular jam band that puts on GREAT shows!  They usually play their NYE shows in northeast locations including Philadelphia, New York, Massachusetts, and New Jersey.  This year was their first year to play somewhere besides the northeast, so everyone was really excited to see them play somewhere new.  Chicago was a perfect place for them to play because it isn’t too far from the northeast and it is big enough to have a good crowd.  Also, the Chicago Auditorium Theater is a big, beautiful, and historic place to have a concert.  The Theater was built in 1889 and has hosted plenty of famous shows including Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, and Grateful Dead.  Lately, the Theater has been used for plays, balls, etc... So to have The Disco Biscuits come and play was going to be really interesting!

       The Disco Biscuits played December 26th, 27th, and the 28th in New York and then came to Chicago to play their NYE shows on December 30th and 31st.  On the 30th, they had Abakus and EOTO opening.  Abakus is a DJ who opened around seven-thirty.  EOTO is a Dubstep-type of band that consists of Michael Travis and Jason Hann from The String Cheese Incident, and they played around eight-thirty.  They were a fun way to get the crowd wild and ready for a great Biscuits show!  EOTO ended around nine forty-five and then the Biscuits came on around ten-ten.  The Disco Biscuits opened the show with a HUGE “7-11” that went straight into “Munchkin Invasion”.  Next was a jamming “Mindless Dribble,” into “Lunar Pursuit,” back into “7-11,” BACK into “Mindless Dribble,” and then into the ending of Pink Floyd’s “Run Like Hell” to end the first set around eleven-fifteen!  

Abakus came back on during the set break and the Biscuits came back around eleven fifty-five.  They opened the second set with a straight up Biscuits jam consisting of “Strobelights and Martinis”>“Pimp Blue Rikki”>“Strobelights and Martinis”>“I-Man!”  Next was “Morph Dusseldorf,” which was unfinished, and morphed into a crowd favorite “Basis For A Day” to end the second set!  The encore was one of their new songs “Portal To An Empty Head” into the ending of “Svenghali,” back into “Portal To An Empty Head.”  What an AMAZING first night!  The late night show was Dr. Fameus, which is the solo project of Disco Biscuits’ drummer, Allen Aucoin.

       NEW YEAR’S EVE, and there was excitement in the air!  Alpha Data and Future Rock were the openers.  DJ Alpha Data came on around seven-thirty.  Future Rock is a jam-tronica band that came on around eight forty-five and ended around nine-twenty.  They definitely had the crowd RAGING, not that the crowd needed to be pumped up being that it was NEW YEAR’S EVE!  The Biscuits came on stage around ten-thirty and the crowd went NUTS!  Jon “The Barber” Gutwillig was wearing an all-white jump-suit with white shoes; it was a funny sight to see.  They opened the show with a “jam” that went into a dyslexic version of Pink Floyd’s “Run Like Hell.”  Now, for The Disco Biscuits, a dyslexic version means that a song is broken up into different parts.  For instance, they played the ending to “Run Like Hell” the 30th; and on the 31st, they played the beginning and middle sections.  “Run Like Hell” went into “Tricyle”>“Orch Theme”>“Spacebirdmatingcall.”  The lasers were in FULL FORCE the first set.  To end the first set was an old song, “Little Betty Boop.”  They ended the first set around eleven-fifteen and came back on around eleven-thirty.  

       The Biscuits opened the second set with a dyslexic version of “Confrontation,” which completes the song from their show on the 28th in New York.  “Confrontation” went into “Morph Dusseldorf,” which finished the song from their 30th show.  Next was “Astronaut”, during which I noticed that it was getting close to being midnight.  Everyone was wondering what was going to be the New Year’s song!!  “Helicopters” was next and that’s when we realized what it was!  Almost every year since 1999, The Biscuits play “Helicopters” and they change the lyrics from “Helicopters, look out below. Helicopters, flying low,” to “Happy New Year’s, look out below. Happy New Year’s flying low.”  So, they did the countdown at the beginning of the song and when it hit midnight they SCREAMED “HAPPY NEW YEAR’S, LOOK OUT BELOW!”  The balloons and confetti dropped and the crowd went WILD!!  They jammed out “Helicopters” and then took a minute or two break to gain their composure.  After that, they went into a MASSIVE jam that consisted of “Little Shimmy In A Conga Line”>”Vassillios”>”Voices Insane”>”Little Shimmy In A Conga Line!”  Everyone thought they were never going to end and just keep going with a long second set instead of a third set.  But, they did end the second set a little after one.  

       Around one-thirty The Biscuits came back on with some slow jams, “Floes”>“My Lady Survives.”  Next they played an unfinished version of “Rock Candy” which went back into “Floes.”  Next was “Crystal Ball”, and then a nice version of “Kitten Mitts.”  The last song was “Highwire”, and during that song I noticed that it was getting close to two-thirty.  Sure enough, after a good “Highwire,” the band said “Sorry, but we went over curfew there will be no encore.  HAVE A GREAT NEW YEAR’S!!!!”  At first it was a bummer that they didn’t play an encore, but then I realized that they still played as long as they could, so I didn’t miss any music! All in all, I have to say that was one of the BEST New Year’s Eve shows I have ever been to!!  Thanks to Chicago, the Biscuits, and the people for a WONDERFUL NEW YEAR’S RUN!!!!  HAPPY 2012!!

Review by: Stuart Wimpee

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photography by: Stuart Wimpee

Back to Top

America and Jim Messina – Holiday Harmony Tour – The Saenger Theatre, Mobile, AL  12-08-11

Perhaps a Thursday night in Mobile is not a typical time to go to a concert; or perhaps, as guitarist Jim Messina joked, “Not everyone got the memo”; whatever the reason, the Saenger Theatre was not sold out for this Holiday Harmony Tour.  But for the lucky audience in attendance, both Jim Messina and the iconic band America treated us to an incredible evening of music.

Jim Messina and his talented band opened with a few Loggins & Messina classics, including “Watching the River Run”, “Danny’s Song”, and “Thinking of You”.  His band was comprised of Gary Oleyar (fiddle, violin, guitar), George Hawkins Jr. (bass), Jim Christie (drums), and Craig Thomas (saxophone, flute, clarinet).  I was truly entranced by Jim’s friendly stage presence, his acoustic guitar, and his lovely voice which has stood the test of time.  Switching to electric guitar, Jim gave us a healthy dose of enjoyable country-tinged rock from his time with the band Poco, with songs like “Kind Woman” and “You Better Think Twice”.  We witnessed Gary and Craig engage in a dueling match with violin and clarinet, and heard some smooth guitar work from Jim.  The new tune “Jolene” was a great country rocker, a song that reflects Jim’s passion for this style of music, and it was lots of fun.  The set closing “You Need A Man” was phenomenal, allowing some jammed out space for Gary’s lively fiddle, a killer sax solo from Craig, some great bass funkin’ from George, and solid drumming from Jim Christie.  My personal highlight came during the encore, when the band delivered an incredible version of Loggins & Messina’s “Angry Eyes”, a song I fell in love with the first time I heard it years ago; the sax and flute sections were nailed, and Jim’s guitar solo was perfection, hovering close to the beloved album cut, while embellishing where warranted.  The encore concluded with a rockin’ “Your Mama Don’t Dance”, and the crowd was on their feet applauding the sensational set!

We didn’t have to wait long before America took the stage, with Gerry Beckley (guitars, keys, vox, harmonica), Dewey Bunnell (guitars, vox), Wil Leacox (drums), Michael Woods (guitars, keys), and Rich Campbell (bass).  We knew this was the Holiday Harmony Tour, but when the intro music of “Tin Man” was accompanied by the lyrics of “White Christmas”, it was quite a surprise, and one that worked surprisingly well!  A full-fledged “Tin Man” followed, and Dewey’s voice sounded every bit melodic and smooth as it always has.  “You Can Do Magic” transported me back in time to my 1980s childhood.  Gerry’s voice was pristine and tender for “Don’t Cross the River” and the beautiful “Daisy Jane”.  America brought us some holiday cheer throughout the show, sprinkling songs like “Winter Wonderland”, “Let It Snow”, and a lovely “Silent Night” amongst fan-favorite hit songs.  The exquisite harmonies of “I Need You” were complimented by the comfortably smooth drumming of Wil Leacox.  The classic “Ventura Highway” was a major crowd-pleaser, as was the excellent rendition of Joni Mitchell’s “Woodstock”, a song included on America’s 2011 album Back Pages.  “Woman Tonight”, “Only In Your Heart”, and “Lonely People” were all expertly performed, and I felt like I was back in my parents’ study, sitting on the floor with the History album spinning on the record player.  A cover of The Mamas & The Papas’ “California Dreamin” segued nicely into a song about Christmas in California.  The set closing “Sandman” was hard-rockin’ and featured some smoldering guitar work, and left the fans on their feet begging for more.  America’s encore thrilled the audience, when “Sister Golden Hair” came out to play, followed by the best-known “Horse With No Name”.  Finishing with a “Holly Jolly Christmas”, America brought our holiday-happy musical adventure to a close.  The fortunate fans who came out in Mobile to see America left immensely satisfied, and I can safely say that we would ALL like to thank Jim Messina and America for a wonderful evening.

Review and Editing by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

Daryl Hall & John Oates – Beau Rivage Theatre, Biloxi, MS            12-02-2011

To be privileged to see a band that played a major role in your younger years is quite an honor, and when we learned that Daryl Hall and John Oates were playing in Biloxi MS, my husband and I had the same response: WE HAVE TO GO!  When we arrived for our first concert at the Beau Rivage Theatre, we immediately enjoyed the comfortably intimate setting provided by the 1500-seat venue.  Our excitement was heightened with the knowledge that this was a SOLD OUT concert, and the room would be packed with an eager crowd, sure to spur the musicians to soaring peaks.  For a Hall & Oates concert, it would be logical to assume that we 30-somethings would be part of a handful of “youngsters” in the crowd, but there was actually a wide age range that included a group of teenage girls with homemade T-shirts, as well as silver-haired couples who had seen this band numerous times.

To open the Biloxi edition of their “Do What You Want, Be What You Are” tour, the band strolled onstage and tore into “Maneater”, with Daryl Hall’s voice and guitar as pristine as ever, and saxophonist Charlie DeChant coming down front to trade licks with John Oates’ guitar.  “Family Man” followed, and found percussionist Everett Bradley animated and lively.  I was thrilled to hear “Out of Touch”, one of my all-time favorite Hall & Oates songs, which Daryl sang flawlessly, and which included some great guitar work from John.  I was less familiar with the next song, from the Voices album, but I really enjoyed hearing John sing “How Does It Feel To Be Back”.  Next up was another of my favorites, from the Rock & Soul album; “Say It Isn’t So” was quite a treat, and Eliot Lewis worked over his keyboards, while Charlie delivered a smashing sax solo.  “Las Vegas Turnaround” was well done, with bassist Klyde Jones and drummer Brian Dunne holding the solid beat, and guitarist Paul Pesco pushing the band to peaks.

Daryl introduced the next song by explaining it was one of the first that he and John wrote together, and although they’ve played it countless times, each time feels like the first time: “She’s Gone” was soulfully wonderful.  To hear John’s opening guitar chords being strummed on his slick silver guitar for “Sara Smile” was blissful, and Daryl’s voice was so tender yet strong at the same time.  Then Daryl put aside his guitar and moved to a keyboard, for a deceptively slow starting intro that then exploded into “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)”.  Throughout the show, you could watch as the music of Hall & Oates drove people out of their seats to dance, even for just a minute; but by the end of this grooving and building song, it was a bit of a real dance party, with many folks on their feet!  When the final notes rang out and the band left the stage, many people clamored forward to crowd around the stage, and everyone was clapping and cheering.

Much to our delight, the band returned to the stage for a spirited encore of “Rich Girl” and “You Make My Dreams”, and the audience continued to enthuse and rave!  For their second encore, the classics “Kiss On My List” and “Private Eyes” had the sold out crowd happily dancing, absolutely loving the experience.  We were thrilled that we got the chance to see Daryl Hall and John Oates live in concert, and we were truly impressed with their genuine musicianship, their entertaining stage presence, and their talented band.



Review and Editing by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

North Mississippi Allstars – Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN  11-25-11 

Everyone has their Thanksgiving traditions.  For me, it’s a huge meal with my family, waking up at the crack of dawn (or crack of midnight as was the case this year) for Black Friday shopping, and attending the annual North Mississippi Allstars hometown show in Memphis.  No matter how many variations of the trio that I see during the year, it’s always nice to see them play in their true form.  This year was made even better when I learned that Jason Isbell and the 400 unit would be opening for them.  Given that their equipment was stolen just days before in Dallas, they put on quite a show with borrowed gear.  “Decoration Day”, written by Isbell for his father, is perhaps one of my favorite songs by the Drive-By Truckers and I was thrilled when they broke it out during their set.  Other songs rounding out their short, but fabulous set were a cover of the Meters “Hey Pocky Way”   sung by former Memphian Chad Gamble, and their own “Alabama Pines” and “Codeine”.  Closing the set with “Try”, they had the audience primed and ready for the Allstars.  They even slid in a few bars of Led Zeppelin’s “No Quarter”.  Was it a nod to audience member Robert Plant, perhaps?

Cody strutted out in a Viking hat and goggles with a “Drinking Muddy Water” video intro in the background and it was clear to all that the Allstars came to this hometown show to have fun.  Staying true to their North Mississippi Hillcountry blues roots, the trio played crowd favorites such as “Mississippi Boll Weevil”, “Po Black Maddie”, “Skinny Woman”, and “Mean Ol’ Wind Died Down”.  Cody’s “Psychedelic Sex Machine jam” brought down the house as always.  Joining them onstage with his own classic brand of washboard playing was Jimmy Crosthwait.  His playing on “Horseshoe”, “Moonshine” and “KC Jones” reminded the older Memphis audience of bygone days when Crosthwait played with Jim Dickinson--a Memphis legend and father of Luther and Cody.  Closing the set with Cody playing the drums with red wiffle ball bats and Luther playing his cigar box guitar, “Drinkin’ Muddy Water” was a crowd pleaser for sure. 

Coming back onstage for the encore we were pleased to see Jason Isbell join the trio for a cover of Justin Earle Townes “Harlem River Blues”.  The final guest appearance of the night would be Alvin Youngblood Hart doing his own “Big Mamas Door” and with that the house was rocking.  “Hear the Hills’ and “Let it Roll” rounded out the first encore.  However, we then got a second encore.  “All Night Long > Snake Drive” would officially end the night, and with that smoking hot ending, the holiday show was over.

Review by Cindy Neal

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Cindy Neal

Back to Top

The String Cheese Incident, The Fabulous Fox Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia, 11-24-2011

Reach up to the sky and touch the stars with your own hands!

            On Saturday November 24th, a car full of people and I drove up to Atlanta, Georgia to see The String Cheese Incident at the Fabulous Fox Theatre.  I have been listening to them for about ten years now and this was my first time to see them, so I was extremely excited!  We got to the hotel just in time to watch the Iron Bowl, a perfect way to “pre-game” for the show, before heading to the lot to check out the vendors and their wares on Shakedown Street.  The show time was eight and we were all very antsy so we walked in around seven-fifteen.  We sat on the floor about fourteen rows back to the right of the stage.  The stars were twinkling and the crowd was ready to get down and PARTY!   

The band came on stage around eight-fifteen and everyone started whooting!  All weekend my buddy was calling “Restless Wind” as the opener and of course that’s what they opened with!  Right when they started playing the crowd started jamming and the balloons went flying.  After a HUGE “Restless Wind,” they went into “100 Year Flood.”  Next up was Stevie Wonder’s “Boogie On Reggae Woman,” which got the crowd going NUTS!  “Barstool” was a mellow jam and then the band broke out a new song called “Colliding.”  It was a good dance kind of song that got everyone ready for a rockin’ crowd pleaser, “Miss Brown’s Teahouse!” “Miss Brown’s Teahouse” went into “Shine,” which was a long, party jam and a great way to end the first set.  

They came back from the set break and didn’t waste any time to break out Allman Brothers “Southbound!”  That really got the crowd ready for an exciting second set!  Next was one of my favorites, “Desert Dawn”; it is just one of those good, uplifting jam songs.  “Desert Dawn” has a verse that says, “Reach up to the sky and touch the stars with your own hands.”  I noticed that they played three songs which mentioned something about stars in the lyrics and it was perfect for the Atlanta Fox, which has stars twinkling on the ceiling.  A funky “Sirens” was next and that’s when the jams and lights started to get weird and crazy.  The balloons were in full force and all over the place by now and they went into the electronica song “Bumpin’ Reel.”  Michael Kang’s fiddle sounded great during that jam!  “Way That It Goes” was next, and I really enjoyed Kyle Hollingsworth’s voice and organ during this song.  Next, Bill Nershi had everyone do a group whoot, which lead into a song that IS String Cheese, “Jellyfish,” and everyone was screaming the lyrics!  To end the second set was “It Is What It Is,” with a good jam to have everyone pumped for the encore. 

The crowd was extremely LOUD and ready for SCI to come back on for the encore! The band asked if it was cool for them to play some bluegrass since they were down south, and we responded by screaming.  They started playing the fast song “Rollin’ In My Sweet Baby’s Arms.”  After some awesome bluegrass, they walked off stage and the crowd did not let up with the screaming.  So, they came back on stage and said they couldn’t not come back out and play another one.  They ended the show with the good ole song “Way Back Home”, just before twelve.  After the show a friend and I were talking and we both agreed that even though we wouldn’t normally say this, we thought that there was positive energy at the show.  It was AMAZING!  The whole environment (music, people, lights, everything) was just happy and positive.  There was no way you could not have a good time at the show!  It was one of my favorite shows I have ever been to!!

11/26/2011 Fox Theatre - Atlanta, GA
Set 1:
Restless Wind, 100 Year Flood > Boogie On Reggae Woman, Barstool, Colliding, Miss Brown's Teahouse > Shine
Set 2:
Southbound, Desert Dawn, Sirens > Bumpin' Reel, Way That It Goes, Jellyfish, It Is What It Is...
Rollin' In My Sweet Baby's Arms, Way Back Home


Review by: Stuart Wimpee

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Stuart Wimpee

Back to Top

Bear Creek Music and Arts Festival – November 9-13, 2011, Live Oak, FL

What do you do when you see a bear in the woods?  Well, if it happens to be “Warm and Fuzzy” night at the Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park, you know you’re at Bear Creek Music and Arts Festival…and you prepare to party!  2011 marked the fifth annual Bear Creek Festival, and the atmosphere was festive and fun throughout the weekend.  Nestled in amongst the trees in Live Oak, FL is this wonderful music park that hosts several festivals during the year including Wanee Festival, Blackwater Music Festival, Magnoliafest, Suwannee Springfest, and Bear Creek Festival.  Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park knows how to take care of concertgoers:  lots of space for tent camping and RV’s, cabins for rent, bathouses with showers, a disc golf course, canoes, playgrounds, a general store, and a café.  And because Bear Creek is a music AND arts festival, there were tents housing art galleries, providing visual delights to compliment the experience.

And THEN there’s the music!  Bear Creek had four outdoor stages (and there were lots of hammocks strung between trees at the back of the Amphitheatre!), an indoor music hall, and a silent disco tent.  The bands were well-scheduled, there was constantly good music to go see, all the music and vending was within a comfortable walking distance, and all of it added up to one of the best music festival experiences I’ve ever had.  We arrived on Friday, 11-11-11, and enjoyed Papadosio on the Purple Hat Stage, followed by the entertaining jazz organist Dr. Lonnie Smith, who is an incredible Master of the Hammond B3 Organ.  At the Campground Stage, we watched fellow Mobilian Chris Spies on keys with the Russell Batiste Band; as Russell enticed bassist George Porter Jr. onstage, we saw the first of many collaborations that would include this world renowned bass player.  We heard the Anders Osborne Trio ripping up the Big IV Amphitheatre, where Stanton Moore and Billy Iuso joined him for a fantastic version of Sugaree.  Orgone was a treat, bringing the west coast funk to the table; then we headed into the cold of the Purple Hat field where we were frozen in our tracks by Garage a Trois’s intense yet disjointed set.  Our bones were later warmed and rocked by Soulive at the Amphitheatre, a supremely fun and danceable set that included an awesome Beatles tribute medley (Come Together, Something, Eleanor Rigby, and I Want You (She’s So Heavy)).  Medeski Martin & Wood gave us some delicious jazz, and Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad had a great set as well.

On Saturday 11-12-11, we started off our funkin’ adventure with Chapter 2 at Uncle Charles’ Porch Stage; then we hit the Amphitheatre for one of the liveliest Bear Creek sets with The Funky Meters, with Arthur Neville and George Porter Jr. absolutely funkin’ us up!  The New Mastersounds grooved out the Porch Stage, and then we headed inside to the SOS Music Hall where we got quite a treat from 3rd Stone.  Third Stone’s music is incredibly uplifting and fun to dance to, with lovely vocals, solid rhythms, and a talented lead guitarist; and with guest keyboardist Chris Spies, saxophonist Chris Spies Jr., and pedal steel guitarist Roosevelt Collier (The Lee Boys), this ended up being one of my favorite shows.  Back at the Amphitheatre, Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood played a blissful set that included some of my favorite tunes off the “A Go Go” album.  Then at the Porch Stage, Lettuce primed us with the funk factor and poised us perfectly to head to the Bear Creek main headliner at the Amphitheatre.  It was time for the Trey Anastasio Band, and this Suwannee crowd was ecstatic to have them here!  Warmly received even in the cold night air, TAB played a solid set from the opening “Push On Til The Day” all the way through.  Russ Lawton (drums) and Tony Markellis (bass) held strong, and Trey gave Ray Paczkowski (keys) room to roam.  Russell Remington provided sweet sax and flute, and Natalie “Chainsaw” Cressman (trombone) and Jennifer Hartswick (trumpet) blew us all away!  Trey’s guitar sounded clear and fluent, particularly in the midst of “Simple Twist Up Dave”.

Sunday, 11-13-11, an early set of Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey got us going good; then the Porch Stage housed a rousing set with The Trio, featuring George Porter Jr., famed NOLA drummer Johnny Vidacovich, and Jennifer Hartswick.  The Lee Boys took us to church for a while; and then we got to rock out to the talented Honey Island Swamp Band.  John Scofield & Piety Street gave us some smooth NOLA-laced jazz.  We took a short drive down to the river to admire the scenery, before returning to the Amphitheatre for one of my favorite sets of the whole festival:  Lettuce absolutely exploded with their groovin’ funk, driven by their super-tight horns, drums, bass, electrifying keys, and smoldering guitar.

After this amazing weekend of funktastic music, we headed home exhausted, but filled with gratitude to be able to experience such a wide array of talent and enjoyment.  Bear Creek Music & Arts Festival was a wonderful experience, and one that we hope to continue in the years to come.


Review by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

11-8-11 The Wilderness of Manitoba, Alabama Music Box, Mobile, AL

It is not often that I hear vocals that truly impress me; I tend to focus on the instrumentation of music.  So I was pleasantly surprised when the vocals of The Wilderness of Manitoba (TWOM) entranced me.  From the moment their exquisitely crafted harmonies greeted my ears, I was captivated.  I was happy to learn their tour would bring them to the Alabama Music Box in Mobile, AL.

Hailing from Toronto, Ontario, TWOM includes Scott Bouwmeester (guitar, bass, percussion, vox), Will Whitwham (guitar, uke, keys, vox), Melissa Dalton (guitar, shakers, vox), Stefan Banjevic (guitar, banjo, uke, cello, etc , vox), and Sean Lancaric (percussion).  It was intriguing to watch these multitalented musicians work with such a wide array of instruments; and the singing bowl played by Melissa was the first time I’ve seen or heard anything like that.  To classify The Wilderness of Manitoba as a 21st Century folk band hints at the heartfelt feelings imparted by their vocal harmonies, but does not adequately describe the musical experience of seeing this band.

The soundscape created by TWOM was richly textured, and was warm and inviting in the midst of the Alabama Music Box.  A feel-good equilibrium was established, with some songs hypnotically peaceful, and some songs that enticed folks to get on their feet and dance.  I was grateful for the opportunity to have The Wilderness of Manitoba playing in my town, and glad I got to see and hear them in action.  If given the chance, I highly recommend you check out this band live; they are truly unique musicians with a definite passion for their art, and quite unlike any other band I’ve seen.

Review by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: STOCK

Back to Top

MOE. November 6, 2011, Vinyl Music Hall, Pensacola, FL

There is nothing like a beautiful Sunday night in Pensacola, Florida; and there is especially nothing better than a moe. show on the Gulf Coast.  It was Jams Plus Media's first time at Vinyl Music Hall, but it will not be our last!  This venue is clean and intimate, and is obviously well-managed with a lot of passion and focus to bring great music to the Northwest Florida area. 

Show time!  And the Boys from Buffalo open with a solid "Brent Black".  And the crowd chants "Brent Black where did you go?"  So from a Rob Derhak opener, to a "Good Trip" with Al Schnier, straight into "Akimbo" from Chuck Garvey, you knew all three men at the mic wanted a chance to turn on this southern crowd.  Later that set the band played "Down Boy", and at this point Clayton Roberts (The Open Door) and Stuart Wimpee (Wimpee Reviews) both look at me and say, "Oh man! I love this song!" And apparently the fans and the band did too, because the energy in Vinyl increased rapidly.  The first set ended with "Lazarus" which paved the way for a second set that would bring a solid punch. 

Now thirty-seven minutes past the hour, and the band rolls back onto the stage with "The Road" that seriously sent us into the stratosphere.  They are at this point telling us “full steam ahead!”  We all catch a serious "Bullet" with a sneaky and sick "32 Things".  Man oh man, the Gulf Coast was once again getting a pearl in the shell.  After they try to cool us with "Water" it is time to get down and dirty with "Bearsong". So from "Hi & Lo" to a set ending "Big World", the crowd was glad they made it to this venue, on this night.  The encore wrapped it up with a rocking "Lylelovit" into an amazing "New York City" that had us singing along to lights out.  But we all left after midnight wanting so much moe.  The entire Jams Plus team hopes moe. will quickly return to the Gulf Coast to bring their awesome vibe and amazing music to us again!

Review by: Dale Taylor

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Back to Top

Umphrey’s McGee (The Tabernacle, Atlanta, Georgia) 10-29-2011


On October 29th, 2011, my dad and I drove up to Atlanta to go see Umphrey’s McGee play their Halloween show.  We got to Atlanta mid-afternoon so we could tour the SweetWater Brewery, which was really fun; I would recommend it to everyone who has the chance to go.  Dubconscious was going on at nine and Umphrey’s around ten-fifteen.  We got inside around eight-thirty so we could get a decent seat.  It was already packed with people dressed up and ready to party.  We got lucky and found pretty good seats on the top balcony.  While we were waiting for Dubconscious to come on, I heard that Dubconscious’ drummer was hurt and they would not be playing, which meant Umphrey’s was coming on early.  I like Dubconscious and was excited to see them, but I was also glad that we were going to get more Umphrey’s!  They came on stage around nine-thirty and they were all dressed up! Brendan Bayliss (Guitar, Vocals) was dressed up as Keith Richard Simmons; Jake Cinninger (Guitar, Vocals) was Dimebag Darrell Hall; Joel Cummins (Keyboard, Piano, Vocals) was Vince Neil Armstrong; Andy Farag (Percussion) was Raggedy Andy Rooney; Kris Myers (Drums, Vocals) was Pamela Anderson Cooper; and Ryan Stasik (Bass) was Karate Kid Rock.  It was a sight to see!  

The first set was a standard badass Umphrey’s set, with songs to get the crowd pumped up and ready for some mash-ups.  To end the first set, they played what they called “Addicted to Kiss,” which was a mash-up of the Prince song “Kiss,” Robert Palmer’s “Addicted to Love,” and Genesis’ “I Can’t Dance!”  When they played “Addicted to Love,” they had female dancers, like the ones in the music video, come out on stage with blow-up guitars and dance.  Then, when they played “I Can’t Dance,” Brendan, Jake, and Ryan did ‘the dance’ off the stage to end the set around ten-fifty.

They came back on stage around eleven-thirty or so and started off with “Come As Your Kids,” which was a mash-up of MGMT’s “Kids,” Nirvana’s “Come As You Are,” and Dead or Alive’s “You Spin Me Right Round!”  I don’t know how they came up with it, but it’s awesome!  A couple songs later they were playing their original “All In Time,” and they jammed Ozzy’s “Crazy Train” and Yes’ “The Fish.”  It got the crowd head banging!  To end the second set, they played “1985 Wellwishing,” which was a mash-up of Wings’ song “Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five,” Terrence Trent D’Arby’s “Wishing Well,” their original “Wellwishers,” and then Wings’ “Band On the Run” ending!!  

For the encore, they played one of their great songs “Hajimemashite” and then played what they called “In The Puppet Kitchen,” which was Umphrey’s “Puppet Strings” and “In The Kitchen.”  Just when we thought it was over, the crowd started to chant “WE WANT THE UMPH, GOT TO HAVE THAT UMPH!!”  It was so loud and crazy and the band came back on stage for a second encore!!  They played their instrumental original “Nothing Too Fancy,” which was awesome, and then they decided to add Blue Oyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear The Reaper” jam to end the song!  The crowd went nuts for MORE COWBELL!  The show was over around one-thirty and we were all happy with what we saw!  Umphrey’s McGee never ceases to amaze me!  What a GREAT Halloween show!

SET 1:  Jazz Odyssey > 40's Theme, Miami Virtue -> Push the Pig, Mulche's Odyssey > The Haunt > "Jimmy Stewart"* > Padgett's Profile, The Floor, Addicted to Kiss**
SET 2:  Come As Your Kids$ > Mulche's Odyssey, All In Time$$, Day Nurse, Resolution > 2x2, 1985 Wellwishing%
ENCORE 1:  Hajimemashite, In The Puppet Kitchen%%
ENCORE 2:  Nothing Too Fancy&


* with lyrics
** Kiss (Prince) + Addicted to Love (Robert Palmer) + I Can't Dance (Genesis) mash-up
$ Kids (MGMT) + Come As You Are (Nirvana) + You Spin Me Right Round (Dead or Alive) mash-up
$$ with Crazy Train and The Fish (Yes) jams
% Nineteen Hundred and Eight Five (Wings) + Wishing Well (Terrence Trent D'Arby) + Wellwishers mash-up, with Band On the Run ending
%% Puppet Strings / In The Kitchen
& with Don't Fear the Reaper jam


Review by: Stuart Wimpee

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Back to Top

Trey Anastasio Band, October 14, 2011, The Fillmore, Charlotte, NC

Okay; so Trey will always be Trey; quite simply, he loves what he does and you can see his passion carry over from Phish to his Trey Anastasio Band.  The 2011 TAB features Jennifer Hartswick, Natalie “Chainsaw” Cressman, and Russell Remington wailing away on the horns; Trey also has drummer Russ Lawton, bassist Tony Markellis, and keyboardist Ray Paczkowski to finish off this tight knit band.  Trey seems to always have a great time, and his stage presence always finds his inner youth.  By bringing some early TAB songs back out, dusted off and polished brightly, this fall tour has proven to be a real treat.  As you can tell from the setlist below, a good arrangement of old and new originals, as well as some solid-and-fun covers, makes the TAB show one not to be missed. 

Set One:

Cayman Review

Gotta Jibboo

Ooh Child

Burn That Bridge

Sweet Dreams Melinda

Money Love and Change

Burlap Sack and Pumps


A Case of Ice And Snow

Push On 'Til The Day

Black Dog

Set Two:

Simple Twist Up Dave



Let Me Lie




Heavy Things

Liquid Time


Mr. Completely

First Tube


Show of Life

Hey Ya

Sultans of Swing



Review by: Brad Worsham

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Brad Worsham

Back to Top

Deluna Festival, October 14, 15, 16, 2011, Pensacola Beach, Pensacola, FL


The second annual Deluna Fest on gorgeous Pensacola Beach was nothing less than FANTASTIC!  Imagine a music festival on the beach, with hotels located on the festival grounds, with music stages on the beach, and music stages in the front parking lots of the hotels.  Can you picture that?



The hotels made for a fantastic barrier of sound between the stages, so the music was never muddled with another act playing.   With musical acts such as Jane’s Addiction, Weezer, Mutemath, Cake, Matt & Kim, Manchester Orchestra, Toubab Krewe, Anders Osborne, Honey Island Swamp Band, and so many more, how could this festival not be awesome?!  The hotels provided great amenities such as pools, and one even had a lazy river near the main stage, so you could literally float in the lazy river on an innertube while enjoying your favorite act.  If pools were not your thing, the many hot tubs were sure to rest those weary bones.  All the while the beautiful Gulf of Mexico was just a few feet away from the beach stages if you needed to jump in and swim with the dolphins.  

The Gulf and Heritage stage that housed many acts from New Orleans provided sheer excellence, portraying the rich music that flows from this sister city.  The other stages brought both familiar and newer acts for all to witness and experience.  With this unique festival, as you wandered the grounds you could always find some new music that caught your ears, and might have even made you late to an act you were planning to see.  Sometimes it felt as if you needed two of your own self just to experience it all. 



The management behind the Deluna Fest was top notch, and the cross promotion between the media and the artists produced a positive outcome for a success story.  We are excited to learn of the return of Deluna Fest in 2012, and can’t wait to see what next year will bring. 




Review by: Clayton Roberts

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

Buckethead, October 13, 2011, The Soul Kitchen, Mobile, AL

It had been around ten years since I had last seen Buckethead, and on October 13, 2011, I was pleased to find that he still puts on a great show.  His performance is truly one to catch, to witness the creative master in action.  As the show progressed through teases of Jimi Hendrix, The Star Wars Theme, The Robot, and Buckethead’s own version of Mardi Gras, the crowd soaked it all in.  It felt to me that an influence of Yngwie Malmsteen is a large contributor to Buckethead’s style.  It was a solid one long-set show and YES, the full costume of KFC bucket and mask were in order.  I liked that on his truly custom built guitar he had these sound effect buttons that he let the crowd participate in by offering the guitar to them to press the effects as they saw fit; Buckethead filled in the rest from the strings.  If you get the chance to check out his act, I would highly suggest it.

Review by: Clayton Roberts

Edited By: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

Bayfest, Mobile, AL,  October 7-9, 2011

The 17th annual Bayfest in beautiful downtown Mobile, AL kicked off on a stunning sunny afternoon Friday, October 7.  This year’s event saw some changes that would make the festival an overall success on many levels.  The decision to not sell day tickets proved to be a hit as the crowds stayed an even keel throughout the weekend and made for an extremely pleasant weekend for fans and families.  Bayfest 2011 had something for everyone, with national acts such as Toby Keith, Blake Shelton, Ludacris, B.O.B., 3 Doors Down, Duran Duran, Need To Breathe, and Korn; and local acts such as Wet Willie, Mob Towne Revival, Church Boy, Miranda Mixon, and The Ugli Stick, plus many, many more.  The broad variety of music made Bayfest a hit amongst fans, and the compact area in which Bayfest is held makes for easy access to experience new music on the seven stages.  Crowds were able to get close and personal with their favorite acts without a feeling of being over crowded, which is largely due to no single-day tickets sold.  The overall feel to the weekend was fantastic as crowds were able to hear the hits of their favorite acts as well as witness the new songs from current and upcoming albums.  When all was said and done, and the downtown area was dismantled and cleaned up, we were left with excitement to see what next year’s Bayfest has in line for us.  As Alabama’s largest music festival, we give Bayfest high props on a job well done.


Review by: Clayton Roberts

Edited By: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by: Clayton Roberts


Back to Top

Dr. John with Lower 911 - October 9, 2011 - The Alys Stephens Center, Birmingham, AL

Such A Night.  There was no confusion on who was playing this evening at the Alys Stephens Center in Birmingham, AL.  As he always does, Mac Rebennack: Dr. John, The Night Tripper, strolled onto the ASC stage with his signature swagger.  Cane in hand, fedora on top, and snake skin shoes stomping to the beat; Hall of Fame inductee Dr. John played to a very quiet crowd on a Sunday evening the 9th of October.  Having seen him in past years at different venues, I was surprised to see very few people up in revelry.  Actually, there were about two.  The first of two 75 minute sets for the evening, Dr. John started off before a fan majority Cyndi Lauper took the stage.  This was an evening of two separate shows with no overlap in performances.  Dr. John maybe the star of this show but it was his band, the Lower 911, who truly shined throughout the performance.  As a fan of Dr. John, I could see the admiration of the band for him during each song. We were pleased with songs like Guilded Splinters, Rite Place/Wrong Time, Monkey Speaks, and Such a Night.  The 75 minute set went by too fast for my taste.  

Set List:

  1. My Indian Red
  2. What goes around
  3. Cabbage Head
  4. Jinky Jinx
  5. Love 4 Sale
  6. Mama Roux
  7. Splinters
  8. Rite Place
  9. Mama + Papa
  10. St. James
  11. Monkey Speaks
  12. Such a Nite
  13. Goin Back
  14. Big Chief


Review by Jason Biggs

Edited by Jams Plus Media

Photos by Jason Biggs

Back to Top

10-07-11 Alvin Youngblood Hart’s Muscle Theory and North Mississippi Allstars, Tipitina’s Uptown, NOLA

New Orleans is guaranteed to be a great place for live music, and Tipitina’s Uptown is one of the most renowned small venues in town.  The wide open floor and upstairs overlooking balcony make for an intimate music hall built for gettin’ down.  Tipitina’s was ready to rock when Alvin Youngblood Hart took the stage and began strumming his guitar.  A slinky-smooth groove worked its way off the stage and got the crowd warmed up.  What followed was a hard-rockin’ set full of energy.  Alvin’s soulful voice and soaring guitar are perfect for dancing enjoyment.  The deeply resonant bass playing of Bill Blok, and the skillful sharp drumming of Joe Gelini provide a solid soundscape for Alvin to accentuate.  The Muscle Theory lineup of Hart, Blok, and Gelini is a strong combination, and was a great way to start the evening!

When the North Mississippi Allstars strolled onto Tipitina’s stage, the roar of the crowd made it very clear:  this New Orleans audience LOVES this band!  And when the opening chords and lyrics of “All Night Long” came creeping through the room, it was clear we were in for a long, hot night!  Luther Dickinson made full use of the guitar arsenal on Stage Right; I counted at least six guitars on the rack, and I think he played them all during the show.  “Shimmy” featured Luther’s slick slide work and Chris Chew’s full and funky bass.  “Crazy Bout U” had deliciously slow dirty-blues bookends, with a speedier section in the center.  Cody Dickinson’s drums drove the rollicking rhythm of “New Orleans Walking Dead”, a great tune off their newly-released album Keys to the Kingdom.  Another song off the new album followed; “Jellyrollin All Over Heaven” is a happy toe-tapper, sure to make even angels smile.  Later in the show we would also hear the fun and lively new “Jumpercable Blues”.

NMAS is definitely on top of their game right now; if they come your way, do yourself a favor and go see them.  There were very few full-stops during this set, as Cody would immediately bring the next number around.  “Shake (Yo Mama)” was smoking hot, dare I say salacious, and the “JR->Lord Have Mercy” was a nice way to cool off.  Then violinist James Hausman was invited onstage, bringing with him a friendly vibe and depth of emotion; Luther and Hausman played well together, exchanging leads, having a good time.  The groove fest continued with Chris showing how “Funky” his bass can be; we got to “Boogie”, and I think I could dance to “Po Black Maddie->Skinny Woman” every day!

Luther performed a soulful Junior Kimbrough solo piece, and when Chris and Cody came back to play, Cody was playing a guitar while kick-drumming!  Luther played a cigar-box guitar for “Drinking Muddy Water”, before he and Chris left Cody onstage with his electric washboard.  Cody’s ‘Woogie Board’ is quite a unique instrument that packs a fiery intensity and sounds like nothing else I’ve ever heard!  For the audience-demanded Encore, Chris sang “I’d Love to Be a Hippie”, and everyone got to “Shake ‘Em On Down” before heading out.  What an incredible night to be at Tipitina’s in NOLA, with Alvin Youngblood Hart’s Muscle Theory AND North Mississippi Allstars…thanks, guys, for an amazing show!


Review by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Edited by: Rosemary A.W. Roberts



Back to Top

Widespread Panic

Biloxi Coliseum, Biloxi, MS




Sunday afternoon on October 2, 2011, a couple of friends and me drove over to Biloxi, Mississippi to see Widespread Panic and Yonder Mountain String Band. The weather was PERFECT and this was the first time Panic had played in Mississippi since George McConnell was the lead guitarist. That show was in Jackson, MS at the Mississippi Coliseum October 21, 2005. We arrived to the IP Casino Resort and Spa around two thirty to check in to our room. I ran into a handful of people I knew while we were checking in and I realized that I was going to know so many people at the show! It is always a good time when you know many people at a show, it makes the show a thousand times better! Also, it was Sunday and you never miss a Panic Sunday show, NEVER!  

Doors were at six and Yonder was scheduled to play at six-thirty. The venue had a music festival in the parking lot for us called The Day Tripper Music Fest, which lasted from two until six. We got to the lot around four-thirty and we went inside the festival. The festival had three local bands and vendors inside.

 I had to wait for my friend to get to the lot so I could get my ticket from him, so I got inside the show around seven. Yonder was finishing a song when I walked in and the next song they played was Grateful Dead’s “Althea”! “Althea” is one of my favorite songs by the Grateful Dead, so that was a perfect way to walk into a show! They were getting the crowd pumped up and ready for Panic! They played a couple more songs and finished around seven thirty-five. When the lights came on, I realized that the coliseum was cut in half. The stage was in the middle of the floor and there still was not that many people there. I overheard someone talking to a security guard inside who said he thought there was around four thousand people there. So not only was it a Sunday show, but it was a very intimate show. I never found out how many people were there, but I knew it was not many. Panic came on stage at eight twenty-seven and they opened with Jerry Joseph’s “Chainsaw City”. Dave Johnston, Banjo player from Yonder came out during “C. Brown”. I thought that he was a PERFECT fit for “C. Brown”. It sounded like a flowing river during the slow and peaceful song. “Who Do You Belong To” was next and they switched from Johnston to Jeff Austin, the mandolin player from Yonder. “Who Do You Belong To” is fast paced which was good for Austin to get up there and have some fun! When they played “Bears Gone Fishing”, they finally started to get their groove. They went into a great jam which, morphed into “Protein Drink”>”Sewing Machine” to close the set.  

They came back on around ten-fifteen and hit the opening licks to Warren Zevon’s “Lawyers, Guns, And Money”! The crowd went NUTS and so did I because I had been chasing that song since the first time I saw them! Even though it is a cover, I still love the way they play it! After that was “Thin Air (Smells Like Mississippi)”, which was a crowd pleaser, given that we were in Mississippi. The next ten songs were one BIG jam without any stops. They started with “One Armed Steve”>”Jack”>”Stop Go”>”Good People”>”Dark Bar”>”Good People”>”Disco”>”Diner”>Driving Song”>”Breathing Slow”. After the crazy jam of songs ending with the slow “Driving Song” and “Breathing Slow”, the band decided to rock the house with “Pigeons” and “Give” to end the second set. The Encore started with a old favorite “Papa’s Home” and went into Blind Faith’s “Can’t Find My Way Home”, which is one of the only slow songs you can end a show with and not have the crowd wanting more. NEVER MISS A SUNDAY SHOW!!! After the show was over, it was all about partying at the CASINO'S!

10/02/11 Mississippi Coast Coliseum, Biloxi, MS

1: Chainsaw City > Thought Sausage > Travelin' Light, True To My Nature, C. Brown*, Who Do You Belong To?**, Walkin' (For Your Love), Crazy > Bear's Gone Fishin' > Protein Drink > Sewing Machine

2: Lawyers, Guns, And Money, Thin Air (Smells Like Mississippi), One Arm Steve > Jack > Stop-Go > Goodpeople > Dark Bar > Goodpeople > Disco > Diner > Driving Song > Breathing Slow, Pigeons, Give

E: Papa's Home, Can't Find My Way Home

* with Dave Johnston on banjo
** with Jeff Austin on mandolin
[Yonder Mountain String Band opened]


Review by: Stuart Wimpee

Edited by: Jams Plus Media

Photos by: Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

Stanton Moore Trio at The Independent - San Francisco 9/15 and 9/16 2011 

San Francisco got a double dose of the Stanton Moore Trio when they ended their cross country tour with not one but TWO shows at The Independent. Luckily, I was in the Bay Area visiting family at the same time. I’m a huge Stanton Moore fan and was anxiously awaiting the Friday night show. I’ve seen him play countless times on the Gulf Coast with Galactic, Garage A Trois, as well as SM3 and he never fails to blow my mind. The first act for night 1 was Soul Rebels who are undoubtedly one of my favorite New Orleans brass bands so I was excited to see them as well. They were the perfect opener! There is nothing like a good brass band to put you in a NOLA state of mind. Their explosive sound and high energy had the crowd pumped and ready to go. They finished their incredible set to huge applause and then it was time for the main event. After a short break the lights dimmed again and Robert Walter (organ), Will Bernard (guitar) and Stanton Moore (drums) all made their way to their respective instruments. Stanton, with his signature black rimmed glasses and ever present smile, greeted the crowd. The Trio kicked the evening off with “Pot-Licker” and away we went. Next were “Pie-Eyed Manc”, “Layer Cake” and “Neeps and Tatties”. Partway through the first set, Soul Rebels joined them for “Tchfunkta” and “Sprung Monkey”. That stage was packed! I felt like I was watching a Jazz Fest after dark show where the musicians just keep piling on. It was fantastic and the crowd went crazy! The Trio continued on with “Special", ”Angel Nemali”, "Knocker”. They finished out the first set with “Bigguns” then took a short break. Stanton signed some cds and had a little “meet and greet” at the merch table, then hopped back on stage and the flurry of funk continued with “Over (Compensatin’)”, “Maple Plank”, “Awana”, “Live Wire”, and “The Yodel”. We were grooving along into the night, then they slammed us with “Proper Gander” followed by “Keep on Gwine” and “Who Took The Happiness”. As always, I was mesmerized by the incomparable Mr. Moore thrashing on his Gretsch kit. Adding to that, the sweet sounds of Robert on the keys and Will’s killer guitar riffs made for a show that was a truly magnificent experience. It was clear they were having as much fun playing as we were listening. These three artists, all masters in their craft, have blurred the genre lines of jazz, blues, funk and rock to create a unique musical fusion. For the final song of the night they took us back down to New Orleans with “Late Night At The Maple Leaf”, one of my favorites for many reasons. It was the perfect song to end an incredible evening of music.

 As a lagniappe, I was invited to SM3's second show so I went back to The Independent after photographing Joan Osborne at The Fillmore Saturday night. I arrived just in time to hear their version of “A Closer Walk With Thee” which made you want to dance down the street in a second line. They followed that up with a heavy hitting cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Good Times Bad Times”! Although I missed opening act The Shotgun Wedding Quintet (Jazz Mafia), I did get to hear them play with the Trio and would highly suggest checking them out. I also had the pleasure of catching the phenomenal Will Blades sitting in on the B-3 for a couple of tunes as well! This was another stellar night of music by Moore, Walter, Bernard and special guests! Thanks to SM3 for a fantastic time and an extra “Thank You” to Stanton for providing me with setlists!


Setlist Night 2


Kickin' Up Dust




Root Cellar

A Closer Walk With Thee

Good Times Bad Times


Hung up


Dunkin' In The Deep

Squash Blossom

Who Took The Happiness

Proper Gander

Keep On Gwine

32nd Street


Photos and review By Ali Kerr

Edited By: Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Southern Exposure Photography


Back to Top
Joan Osborne - September 17, 2011 - The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA

An Intimate Evening With Joan Osborne

I first heard Joan Osborne in 1995 when she opened for Widespread Panic at the Riverfront in Nashville. Her voice had the power to make a bunch of rowdy college kids stop and take notice. I was blown away by the timbre of her voice so rich and pure. So, when I found out I was going to be covering Joan Osborne at the historic Fillmore in San Francisco I had to pinch myself. It meant the end of a nearly 16 year wait to see her in concert again. Joan looked absolutely radiant as she stepped out on stage in an elegant long black dress. She opened with “This Is Where We Start” and I was overcome with emotion as her perfect voice filled the ballroom. Accompanied by Keith Cotton on piano the sound was truly magical. The next song was “St. Theresa” which is one of the songs I remember from the Nashville show and an absolute favorite of mine as well. Then she paused to talk a little about her love of San Francisco and a funny story of how she had been the victim of a pick pocket that day. “They got my iPhone” she laughed, then went on to say she’d gotten a new one and found an app in the process called Funk Box which she then used to accompany her on “Work On Me”. Next was a cover of Grateful Dead ‘s “Brokedown Palace” which she explained had always been a song she hoped to sit in on while she was touring with them but never got to. “So, I’m going to sing it now.” she said with a big grin. Followed by another favorite of mine “Spider Web” where she kept time with the mic stand and a drum stick. Then she belted out two beautiful renditions of Van Morrison’s “Tupelo Honey” and Jimmy Ruffin’s “What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted”. Finally, she closed out the amazing set with “One Of Us” which brought the entire room to a standstill! She left the stage to huge applause with the crowd cheering and whistling for more. She returned for an encore bringing her opening act singer/songwriter Dar Williams to the stage to join her on guitar and vocals. Together they brought down the house with Johnny Cash’s “Long Black Veil” and Pink Floyd’s “Comfortably Numb”. This was one of the most amazing nights of music I have ever experienced! 



This Is Where We Start

St. Theresa

Work On Me (iPhone)

Brokedown Palace 

Spider Web

Tupelo Honey

What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted

One Of Us


Long Black Veil

Comfortably Numb


Review and pictures by Ali Kerr

Edited by: Jams Plus Media

Southern Exposure Photography


Back to Top
Dumpstaphunk - September 15, 2011 - Great American Music, San Francisco, CA

Ivan Neville's Dumpstaphunk represented New Orleans proudly when they left their phunky mark on San Francisco. Headlining at The Great American Music Hall, SF's's oldest and grandest music venue, Dumpsta gave the crowd a heavy dose of the thick nasty musical goodness that NOLA is famous for. Ivan Neville, Nick Daniels, Tony Hall , Ian Neville  and newest member Nikki Glaspie (replacing Raymond Webber). All uniquely masterful musicians in their own right they have combined their talents to create something that is distinctly New Orleans yet very much a sound all their own. (Think Funky Meters mixed with Parliament Funkadelic with a side of rock and roll.) I have had the pleasure of seeing Dumpstaphunk many times in New Orleans so it was a rare treat to see them laying it down on a different coast. They started the evening off with "Paper Chasing Britney" and it was on! The crowd relished every minute of it. Moving and grooving to Ivan on his B3, Ian on guitar, a double dose of bass by Nick and Tony, and Nikki banging it out on the drums. They followed by "Everybody Want Some" and "Greasy Groceries". In true Dumpsta fashion, half way through the show Tony Hall invited all the ladies up on stage to shake it while they played "Standing In Your Stuff". They brought the evening to a close with "Meanwhile" (one of my favorites). It was one phunkin' good time! Thanks for a great show!



Paper Chasing Britney

Everybody Want Some

Greasy Groceries

Fight The Power

Blues Wave

Lt. Dan

Standing In your Stuff

Sheez Music

Betty Davis




Review by:  Ali Kerr

Edited by:  Jams Plus Media

Photos by:  Ali Kerr

Back to Top
Head Jamz Music Festival - September 2, 3, 4, 2011 - Banks of the Red River - Adams, TN

Along the banks of the gently rolling Red River, the third annual Head Jamz Music Festival was held over Labor Day weekend.  The festival, held 30 miles from Nashville, is the brain child of the Thompson family.  Becoming disenchanted with the larger festivals that were only getting larger, they wanted to create a festival that harkened back to the grass roots of festivals. That is what drew me to this festival.  Quality over Quantity.

The festival began earlier this year than in the past with a pre-party on Thursday night.  Fellow photographer Michelle and I arrived early hoping to get a prime spot beneath the trees.  If you are a southern festival goer, you know how critical it can be to get shade for those hot summer festivals. However, we need not have worried.  The campground is covered in trees and very few spots were without shade.  We were placed in the back area of the Red River Campground with several other early birds around a communal bon fire area.  With our tent set-up under the cover of tall trees, along the river, and only just few moments walk away from the stage, we were set for the weekend.

One of the things that I love about music festivals is discovering new bands.  This weekend would be no exception.  Canago from Bowling Green, KY kicked off the weekend of music with an eclectic mix of original dance tunes, a Steely Dan cover and ending with a fun instrumental called “Australia” from their 2010 Fun LP.  Following Canago was The Coolin’ System.  With tight instrumental funk off of their self titled first album, they got the early birds dancing and bobbing their heads in no time.  Chris West’s Junkyard Horns were up next.  With its unique mix of jazz and New Orleans funk and opening with “Onomatopoeia” this Nashville based group sounds like it would be right at home in New Orleans Mardi Gras parade.  Rounding out the night on the Mystery Stage was Eumatik (pronounced “you-mat-ik).  Completely unlike the first three bands, Eumatik was a fuse of electronic and live instrumentation. Coupled with a vivid light show from Herm Productions and Mac driven electronics, live keys and drums would seem to draw campers out of their hiding places and toward the stage…some for the first time all day.

Day two’s music would not begin until 4pm.  We opted not to build a fire for breakfast because at 100 degrees the Tennessee heat had us warm enough.  Instead we headed down to check out the Red River as we would do every morning of our weekend.  Although only waist deep, we waded in to cool off and watch as fellow campers hung out or floated by in tubes.  The afternoon started off with Asheville, NC band Jahman Brahman and Nashville based Deep Fried Five with there take on 60’s and 70’s funk.  My favorite of the second day was The Ragbirds.  With Mark Twain’s quote “nothing so liberalizes a man and expands the kindly instincts that nature put in him as travel and contact with many kinds of people”, Lead vocalist Erin Zindle spoke of expanding one’s perspective as one expands their horizons.  The Ragbirds incorporate many sounds in their highly energetic show. From a Celtic sounding fiddle to African drums, the Head Jammers were bouncing, clapping, and repeating after Erin as she sang originals such as “Panoramic Camera” and “Moribayassa".  The headliner of the second festival would follow The Ragbirds, Keller Williams & the Keels.  For those expecting to hear Keller’s “one man jam band with familiar looping were in for a surprise.  Keller’s side project of blue grass versions of unconventional songs were quirky and fun.  As Larry Keel exclaimed at one point in the show, “Aww, pick it Keller!” and I agree Aww! Pick it!  Where else can you hear Cee Lo Green’s “F@&* You”, Steve Millers “Take the Money and Run”, Waylon Jennings “Good Hearted Woman”, and a mash up of Beck’s and the Grateful Dead’s “Loser” all in bluegrass?  Such a fun show!

Day Three was a full day of music with such local favorites as the Blow Jays, the master fiddle playing of Ryan Cavanaugh, and the country-rock-folk of Donna the Buffalo.  My most memorable moment of the day was when Dorothy Daniels of The Danberrys sat in with the Blow Jays.  Her rendition of “Dazed and Confused” was the best that I have ever heard.  Everyone standing near said that they also had chill bumps. Well done Dorothy!  Big Sam's Funky Nation brought down the house at the end of the night. Formerly with the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, trombonist Sammie “Big Sam” Williams now leads his own band in the tradition of New Orleans Funk.  A definite crowd favorite! Papadosio completed the bands on the Mystery Stage for the night.  Self described as “a combination of eclectic musical traditions with modern Electronica to stir the heart and fuel the mind”, their futuristic funk kept the Head Jammers hopping.  Although not the last band of the night on the schedule, the rain started falling in earnest and drove most of the campers back into their tents after this set.  However, as we popped our heads back out of the tent around 3am, the Mousetrap Tent was rocking so we could resist following the music back up the hill to listen to more music and watch as the hoopers and fire artists entertained the late night crowd.

Day Four began cloudy, but the rains would only hold off until late afternoon.  Today however, the sprinkle of rain didn’t stop anyone from getting out to see the music.  Perhaps one of my favorite bands of the weekend wasn’t really one band but a combination of many musicians from the weekend and they called themselves The Nashville Acoustic Jam with the Danberrys and Friends.  The Danberrys are the husband and wife team of Dorothy Daniels and Ben Deberry.  With their folk and bluegrass sounds, the Danberrys created beautiful harmonies.  Joined on stage by Ethan Ballinger, Charles Butler, Ryan Cavanaugh, Geoff Henderson, Mikie Martel, Andy Wilmouth, and Jake Winebrenner, this group of friend created the best jam of the weekend.  Captain Midnight was also a fun band.  Although dressed in costume, pink wigs, and blowing bubbles there were serious about the music.  Another new favorite for the weekend was Cornmeal.  I had heard that they were a band not to missed and will now have to agree. With their stand up bass, banjo, and strong lead fiddle of Allie Kral the Southern bluegrass band had people dancing and having a good time.  Their “Slip Sliding Away” was top notch. The big draw for most Head Jammers was the last band on the bill: The New Mastersounds. With songs such as “This Ain’t Work”, “Hot Dog”, and “Talk is Cheap”, the four piece funk band based in Leeds, England, closed out the weekend with an extra long set.  Similar in style to The Meters, but considered a leading band on the “New Funk” scene, the meters delivered gritty grooves and funky vibes and were a perfect way for me to close out the weekend.

All in all, it was a great weekend with a diverse selection of music that would appeal to a range of tastes.  From bluegrass to Electronic dance, young and old found their groove.  A special thanks to Mrs Gia Thompson… the hardest working woman of the weekend..for allowing us to hang out behind scenes and giving us a place to charge our batteries and recharge ourselves.  We had a great time with you and your wonderful family and we shall definitely see you next year.

Review by:  Cindy Neal

Edited by:  Jams Plus Media

Photos by:  Cindy Neal

Back to Top

Hippiefest – The Saenger Theatre, Mobile, AL 09-01-11

If you’re going to the Saenger Theatre, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair…if you were going to Hippiefest, that is!  On the night of September 1, 2011, it was as if we were transported back to 1965; with Hippiefest 2011 on the agenda, Mobile music fans dressed the part, wearing tie-dyes, flowing dresses, and emanating vibes of peace and love, man.  Even the Saenger staff donned flowerchild apparel, it was quite an event!

For this debut of Hippiefest in Mobile AL, there were five seasoned acts, each of which found much success during the Hippie era, and who still have loyal fanbases around the globe.  First onstage was Felix Cavaliere of The Rascals, and he brought much enthusiasm with him as he manned his Hammond organ.  From the first verses of “I’ve Been Lonely Too Long”, it was amazing to hear how smooth his voice has remained.  The band provided a nice full sound, as Felix treated us to soulful renditions of “Til the Midnight Hour” and some #1 hits like “Groovin”, “People Got to be Free”, and the rocking closer “Good Lovin”.  Felix’s passion for his music shone brightly throughout the set, with full heart and soul.  A shoutout to the overseas troops was warmly received and applauded.

Next to take the spotlight was Rick Derringer, who started in The McCoys and played with The Edgar Winter Group.  He opened his set with a Christian-themed re-take on “Still Alive and Well”, and then offered gratitude for our freedom fighters before “Real American”.  An amusing anecdote about state rock songs (or lack thereof) led into the State Rock Song of Ohio, The McCoys #1 hit “Hang On Sloopy”.  For his electric closer “Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo”, he invited Gary Wright to join him.  Before leaving the stage Rick delivered a blistering guitar solo with fancy fretwork; the man is still rockin!

The evening continued with Gary Wright of Spooky Tooth.  Gary has a commanding stage presence, and is one of the few performers I’ve seen playing a giant keytar!  He used the mobility provided by the sparkly-strapped keytar to take full advantage of the stage, giving the whole audience quite a show with rollicking songs like “Waiting for the Wind” and “Better By You, Better Than Me”.  He then told the crowd how he played on George Harrison’s first album, and how George gave him a book to read that contained a line which inspired him to write his well-loved classic “Dreamweaver”; and his voice sounded incredible as he sang it to us.  He closed with the funky “Love Is Alive”, and the crowd loved it.

Next up was Mark Farner of Grand Funk Railroad, who set the stage and crowd ablaze with his strong energy.  He was so entertaining, hopping and dancing and strutting all around the stage with his guitar.  Even though the Saenger crowd preferred to sit during the show, Mark got a few folks on their feet for “Locomotion”.  A mid-set “Sins a Good Man Brother” found him and the other guitarist squaring off, totally feeding off each other, and Farner’s phrasing on the guitar was working well.  “Bad Time” and “Some Kind of Wonderful” were crowd pleasers, and I was especially pleased to hear him close with “I’m Your Captain (Closer to Home)”, which he performed expertly.

At last, it was time to hear one of my favorite guitarists of all time, Dave Mason, formerly of Traffic.  He sauntered onstage with a slick black acoustic guitar to play his hit song “We Just Disagree”.  Switching to a cream-colored electric guitar, we heard “Let It Flow”, and then a nicely rearranged “Dear Mr. Fantasy”, which included some smoldering fretwork from Dave.  “Only You Know and I Know” also showcased Dave’s fantastic guitar talents.  Then he told us the tale of his good friend Jimi Hendrix, and how Hendrix first heard “All Along the Watchtower” at one of Dave’s parties, where Bob Dylan was playing…sounds like a really awesome rock-and-roll dream, doesn’t it?!  Hendrix instantly loved the song, and that night they went to the studio, where Dave Mason played the acoustic backup on Hendrix’s famous recording of the song.  Dave proceeded to play it for us, and perhaps Jimi Hendrix’s spirit was with him, because this version definitely paid him homage.  To close the show, all of the musicians came out on stage, and instructed the crowd to get on their feet so we could all dance to “Feelin Allright”, the song Dave Mason wrote that Joe Cocker made famous.

It was wonderful, and we certainly were all “Feelin Allright” as we watched Mason, Farner, Wright, Derringer, and Cavaliere, and the other supporting musicians all onstage making music for us to enjoy.  Hippiefest 2011 was a terrific taste of the music that made the Hippie era so culturally rich, and Mobile was fortunate to have this display of talent at the beautiful Saenger Theatre.


Review by:  Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Edited by:  Rosemary A.W. Roberts

Photos by:  Jams Plus Media's Clayton Roberts

Back to Top

Matisyahu - August 28, 2011 - The Alys Stephens Center, Birmingham, AL

Trevor Hall opened the show a little after 7pm.  He has a cool groove and sound.  It felt like alternative music with a slight reggae flair.  At points I felt the musicians backing him weren’t in sync during their jam session but over all his music is light and fun.  He did experience a bland crowd sitting down and barely clapping.  The venue was hardly a third full during his performance.  Most of the concert goers didn’t arrive until moments before Matisyahu came to the stage.   

Matisyahu strolled onto the stage not long after a light spray of smoke from the ceiling drifted down towards the stage.  His band, the Dub Trio, started playing as he started singing notes that sounded more like a call to prayer.  After listening to songs like Jerusalem and One Day, you can really understand why he says,

"it’s sort of the lyrics that I write are sort of just a reflection of my work that I do, I guess, my spiritual work, you know, emotional, intellectual, or whatever, my inner work, whatever I have going on, what I’m working on, the project that I’m working on, and then that’s what I deal with in my music, because it’s really one thing for me. Like my life is not separate from my music, you know. It’s not like a day job that I leave and go home. It’s my—who I am as a person, and how I’m, you know, trying to grow, come closer to God, be a better person, whatever it is, is all totally bound up with music, how I see the world and experience the world, how I put it out there and take it in. It is all kind of one thing."

courtesy of Kim Lawton’s November 25, 2009 interview with Matisyahu in Washington, DC - http://www.pbs.org/wnet/religionandethics/episodes/december-11-2009/matisyahu-extended-interview/5196/

I don’t feel that calling him a reggae rapper gives him or his performance any justice.  This was a great family atmosphere with not only parents and children in the audience but from what I was told, Matisyahu’s own family off to the side of the stage. 

Seeing Matisyahu’s show in the Alys Stephens Center was very subdued from other places he has played I’m sure.   Most of the crowd stayed seated until the third song. Taking their cue from the few people upstairs behind the stage, a few finally gathered at the foot of the stage which was only about four feet in front of the first row of seats.  Dancing and hands waving ensued.  You could feel the mood change immediately after people realized that this venue was a place that could be enjoyed while dancing.  Matisyahu had a great swagger about him as he danced across the stage is his multi colored sneakers.  Mostly keeping his eyes closed almost as if he was not performing but just into his music.  Sometimes you could catch a slight smile behind the salt and peppered beard.  He finished the evening with his song "One Day."  At the end he started grabbing the fans who decided to gather and dance up on the stage.  By the end of the song men, women, and children alike sang the remaining lyrics and holding their one finger in the air.  At this moment Matisyahu had the biggest smile on his face. 

Review by Jason Biggs

Edited by Clayton Roberts

Photos by Jason Biggs

Back to Top

Aquarium Rescue Unit - Col. Bruce Hampton, Jimmy Herring, Oteil Burbridge, Jeff Sipe, & Matt Slocum - Georgia Theatre Athens, GA - 8-8-2011 

     Three friends and I drove up to Athens, GA on August 8th, 2011 to see the ARU reunion show at the rebuilt Georgia Theatre. The Georgia Theatre burnt down June 19th, 2009. They were having the Grand Reopening August 1-14. I had never been to Athens, never seen ARU, and this was part of the Grand Reopening of the theatre, so I was extremely excited! We got to Athens around four o’clock and the show started at nine, so we had time to enjoy downtown. We went to a couple of bars and restaurants and had a great time. Athens is a cool town to visit.

Around eight forty, we decided to head inside and get ready for the show. When we got inside, you could tell the theatre is new. Looking around, I was amazed at how awesome this place is. Right when you walk in you have two bars, one on the left and right side. The floor and the stage are right past the bars once you walk in. There are stairs on the right side of the theatre when you walk in to get to the second floor and basement. The basement is where the bathrooms are located.

When you go to the second floor there is a nice lobby area, where they have pictures of the old theatre and pictures from the destruction caused by the fire. When you walk out of the lobby, the second floor is a 3-tiered balcony. Also, there is one more part of the theatre that makes it really cool and that is the roof top bar. When you go up to the roof top bar, it is the entire roof covered with tables, chairs, and a bar with drinks and food. It is one of the highlights of the theatre! You are on the roof of the Georgia Theatre drinking and eating, overlooking downtown Athens! 

By now, I was getting really excited for the show to start! At nine-oh-three Jimmy (Guitar), Oteil (Bass and Vocals), Jeff (Drums), and Matt (Piano) walked on stage and started to jam without Col. Bruce (Guitar and Vocals). Of course, after a couple of minutes of jamming, Col. causally walked on stage and everyone started going CRAZY! He immediately sat down on his stool and started to sing. After singing a couple of verses, he introduced everyone in the band. When he got to Jimmy Herring, he stopped and asked the crowd “who is this man?”

Everyone started to SCREAM! The first song they jammed slow for a couple of minutes, then they went into this big jam that got everyone’s blood pumping. During Bruce’s song “Basically Frightened,” Col. got off his stool and started dancing around the stage, singing to everyone in the band. He would make these crazy faces at each member of the band, which would make them all laugh. That turned into a nice jazz jam session, which reminded me I was seeing some of the greatest jazz musicians around. One of Col.’s favorite songs “Fixin’ To Die,” a Booker T. Washington White song was next. The band jammed so hard and fast, I could barley see Jimmy and Oteil’s fingers moving! While they were jamming, Jimmy started to tease “Space Is The Place,” then the rest of the band went into the song and the crowd started to go wild!

Willie Dixon’s “Spoonful” was next and during Col.’s jam, he walked off stage while he was jamming. Everyone was wondering where he went, then you heard a pop and Col.’s guitar was off. Col. came back on stage with his guitar chord in his hand, stabbed Jimmy with the chord and then Jimmy started to solo! It was something only Col. Bruce would do! Skip James’ song “I’m So Glad”  had a jazzy touch to it and I thought it sounded pretty good. One of the highlights of the night was when they played Bobby Bland’s “Turn On Your Love Light!” It had an ARU twist to the song and during the jam Col. and Oteil put down their instruments and proceeded to dance with each other around the stage! Everyone in the audience was laughing and cheering! To end “Turn On Your Love Light,” Col. threw his towel up in the air and when it fell the band stopped. They walked off  stage after that around eleven thirty. At eleven thirty-two, Jeff came on stage by himself and “pulled” the band back on stage like he was a mime! The band went into a ROCKIN’ version of “Yield Not To Temptation” to start the encore. They ended at eleven fifty-three and most of the crowd went across the street to this bar called the Nowhere Bar. A band called Vertigo was having an after-party there and they were really good! Jeff Sipe and Matt Slocum came out and played with them! What a way to end a GREAT night in Athens, GA!

Review by Stuart Wimpee

Edited by Rosemary AW Roberts

Back to Top


Copyright 2012 Jamsplus.com.  All Rights Reserved